New Sun and Moon Information: Starter Evolutions and an American trailer

I never seem to be on time with these things anymore.  Guess that’s just the nature of my life right now.  It’s not really that much of a problem since technically we’ve only had new things for a few days, and since I’m really just giving my opinions so it doesn’t much matter how timely I am… But still.  I’m hoping it doesn’t annoy anybody out there reading.

Anyway though, we’re not here to talk about my schedule yet again.  No, we’re here to talk about some new Pokémon news.  Some great news at that, if I do say so myself!  Check out my likely over-embellished thoughts below the cut if you want to see whether or not my feelings on the Alolan starter Pokémon have changed in light of recent developments.

Clearly, the bread and butter of this trailer is the middle evolutions of the three Alolan starter Pokémon.  It’s seriously the most important part in my opinion, though the other three portions of the video do offer some interesting stuff as well.  Let’s address each part in order of how they appear, shall we?


Starter Evolutions

Our three starter Pokémon from Alola, Rowlet, Litten and Popplio were introduced about five months ago now, in a trailer all the way back in May that I talked about.  Seems like an eternity ago considering just how many new Pokémon, new mechanics and new characters we’ve been introduced to since then.

And now, we officially know what their stage one evolutions look and act like.

All images courtesy of Serebii.net

Spoiler alert, I’m still going with Rowlet.  Because Dartrix is amazing and my favorite and I love him.

But I’ll still talk about all of them, since they’re honestly a really great batch of starters all together!  Seriously, one of the best selection of starters I can think of in seven generations worth of games.

Dartrix

dartrix
Dartrix, the Blade Quill Pokémon

According to the official Pokémon website“Dartrix is extremely sensitive to other presences in the area and can detect opponents behind it and throw feathers to strike them without even seeing them. This Pokémon conceals sharp-bladed feathers inside its wings, showing astounding precision as it sends them flying in attack. And it goes beyond propelling its blade quills in simple straight lines—it can even bend these feathers to change their trajectories! Revealing a certain snobbiness in its personality, Dartrix cares a great deal about its appearance, grooming its feathers in every spare moment. In truth, it’s also a bit of a birdbrain, with a tendency to bungle things up. Once it makes a mistake, it sometimes gets into a desperate struggle to gloss over the situation and ends up making a bigger mess than ever. At times, this Pokémon feels so bothered by its dirty or ruffled feathers that it can’t focus on battle. When it loses its focus, it sometimes even retires from the battle on the spot! It’s up to each Trainer to help Dartrix overcome this troublesome stage. If this Pokémon is with a Trainer who helps it through, its strength will grow hugely!”

Like… How could you not love this guy.  I almost feel like it should be illegal to be this cute and wonderful and just all-and-all great.  He’s got a real goofy butler kind of look, which reminds me of a less serious Jakob from Fire Emblem Fates (he also reminds me of Papyrus from Undertale when his eyes bug out, but that’s a different story).  On top of that he’s got that calm and collected facial expression that reminds me of the Phantom of the Opera, or just of masks in general.  I mean seriously, just look at this:

img_4235
The maaaaask.  Edit done by my friend cyv001, check his blog out here!

It’s amazing.  I love it.  I love Dartrix.

The description of his personality is endearing, and the fighting description honestly leads me to believe we might actually get that leaked archer final evolution, which I really love the look of.  Just… Seriously, I don’t even have the words for this.  Dartrix is bae.  End of story.  Moving on.

Torracat

torracat
Torracat, the Fire Cat Pokémon

According to the official Pokémon website: “The bell-like object attached at the base of Torracat’s neck is a flame sac, an organ that can produce flames. Torracat’s emotions cause a rise in the organ’s temperature, and when the organ spits flames, it rings with the high, clear sound of a bell. Torracat attacks using the flames emitted from this bell. Torracat’s mane serves as an excellent sensory organ, and it can sense what’s going on around it—even in the dark! It can also detect the presence of hidden enemies. Torracat has a great love for battle and will attack so relentlessly that its opponents lose the will to fight. And yet it sometimes behaves like spoiled child in front of Trainers or Pokémon with whom it has built a relationship of trust. The cat punch that this Pokémon can dish out with its strong forelegs is extremely powerful. It can bend iron bars and knock out large men with a single blow!”

While I admittedly don’t have as much love for the other two starters as I do Rowlet and Dartrix, I will admit that Torracat intrigues me.  As a long-time die hard fan of the Fire-type starters, I’ve been waiting to see what the fiery gimmick for this guy was going to be.  As it turns out, it’s the fact that his flame sac is outside of his body, totally exposed to the elements and able to emit more direct manifestations of blazes.  It’s actually pretty awesome, even if it’s a little off-putting to imagine an internal organ hanging out on the outside of Torracat’s body.

But I digress.  The fact that the description talks about forelegs so powerful that they can bend iron bars also brings that Fire/Fighting-type wrestler final evolution leak to mind.  I’m not the biggest fan of that design, as we have a lot of similar Pokémon and at least one that’s already a starter (looking at you, Emboar), but I wouldn’t say I’m heartbroken about the idea either.

After all, I’m not going with the Fire-type starter this time around~

Brionne

brionne
Brionne, the Pop Star Pokémon

According to the official Pokémon website: “Brionne learns its dances by imitating the other members of its colony. It sometimes even learns dances from humans. This Pokémon is a hard worker and pours itself into its efforts until it has memorized each dance. As it dances, Brionne creates balloon after balloon. In battle, it first sends its opponent into disarray with its dancing, and then slaps its balloons into its target, causing the balloons to explode and deal damage. Brionne can dance in perfect time with others, even if they have only just met. On moonlit nights, you can sometimes see throngs of Brionne dancing as one, in perfect fluidity. Brionne always acts cheery and positive. Even when it’s feeling sad, this Pokémon doesn’t allow its sorrow to show. It’s said that Brionne will only reveal a sad expression to a Pokémon or Trainer to whom it has opened its heart completely.”

Now Brionne.  Brionne I love.  I wasn’t a huge fan of Popplio, but so far its evolutions are totally making up for that – assuming the leaked final form is what it will actually wind up being.

She’s cute, bubbly (No pun intended.  Okay, a little bit of a pun intended) and fun just from design and description alone.  Plus, that tendency to hide her emotions to anyone but her trainer makes my heart ache SO bad for this little sea lion.  Seriously, Popplio and Brionne would undoubtedly be my second choice in this race, since Rowlet is so far ahead already.


Festival Plaza

11-1
A central castle in the Festival Plaza.  Image courtesy of Serebii.net

Now… What’s the best way to describe the Festival Plaza.  In Pokémon Black 2 and White 2, just past the deserts of Route 4 and before Nimbasa City, you enter a place known as Join Avenue.  When you gain control of the establishment, NPC characters and other real life Pokémon players you connected with through the C-Gear could be set up as store owners across Join Avenue.  Depending on what trainer class they were, each could own a different type of store, including item shops, raffle places and areas where you could improve your Pokémon’s levels, stats or groom them for more friendship.

The Festival Plaza essentially looks like it will be a resurgence of the concept that began with Join Avenue (and probably a few other things like Generation 3’s Secret Bases), only far more easily utilized thanks to the connectivity possibilities of streetpass and online trades/battles. Plus, it has a very circular appearance similar to the Mii Plaza.

To be honest, I spent tons of time playing with and messing around in both Join Avenue and the Mii Plaza, so even if this feature isn’t totally new and exciting, I’m still looking forward to trying it out.


Poké Pelago

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Images courtesy of Serebii.net

So here’s an undoubtedly interesting new feature: Poké Pelago, a very clever allusion to archipelago like the Galápagos Islands or Hawaii itself.  With this addition, the Pokémon in your PC will be able to hang out around various different islands and help you perform tasks and play games.

Isle Abeens will allow you to attract various random Pokémon, who you can then add to your own roster after you interact with them enough.  At Isle Aphun, you can find random items like the evolutionary stones to use.  With Isle Evelup… I mean do I even need to say it?  They didn’t exactly get creative with the name.  You’re able to upgrade the stats of your Pokémon and level them up at that island.  Otherwise, there’s going to be islands that allow you to grow berries and probably more, but those are the only things that have been unveiled thus far.

As someone who avidly collects Pokémon and stores them, accomplishing a full Pokédex log with a representative of each individual monster in my possession, Poké Pelago excites me.  The fact that sprites from all seven generations of Pokémon could all gather in a single sunny and beautiful place, all interacting and helping me advance my game in some way or another… It’s a wonderful thought.

Still waiting for Pokémon to follow around behind me like in Heartgold and Soulsilver… But considering the gorgeous graphics and 3D set-up that was established in X and Y, I can see why the Pokémon Company is looking to avoid having to get all 700+ Pokémon to be able to work in that environment.  I’ll be looking forward to the day we get there, however.


Sun and Moon Special Demo

The last thing from the video to talk about shouldn’t take too long to talk about, since there really isn’t a lot to say about it.  The Special Demo for Pokémon Sun and Moon will be available on October 18, less than two weeks away at the time I’m writing this!

The ORAS special demo was a really great way to tide me over when I was waiting for those games to come out.  I got it when I bought myself Pokémon Art Academy, since I happened to be taking an art class in high school at that point and felt like it would help me practice my skills.  I can honestly remember opening that game up, sitting around Mossdeep City, and just listening to the song on repeat over and over and over again.  It was incredible the first time I heard it, bringing back a flood of emotions and getting me insanely pumped to play through Hoenn once again with new graphics.  Plus, playing through it enough got me a free Mega Glalie.  So that was cool.

This demo won’t have the same nostalgia factor to it, but I’m sure it will serve the same purpose of getting me pumped for the game!  Now, if only there was a better prize for playing it than… Ash-Greninja.

Not really a huge fan, honestly.  But I won’t go into detail here, it’s not really worth more rambling on.


That’s all for the Pokémon discussion here today, because let’s be honest I was not at all surprised to see Mega Evolutions coming back.  I know some people are upset about it since Megas sort of demolished the Gen 6 metagame, but after all the marketing opportunities and badassery Mega Evolving Pokémon created, along with the over-saturation in everything related to Pokémon over the past few years, it’d be weird if they just got rid of them.  Plus, now there are Z-moves to balance them out, probably.

Mega Mawile and Mega Gardevoir for life, y’all.

While I’m at it, in the time it took me to make this post, another Pokémon Sun and Moon video.  The new stuff it shows is more subtle, since it’s essentially the amazing made-for-TV quality advertisement summing up the games in their entirety that we saw in Japanese some time ago translated to English.  It’s still amazing, so you should watch it again.  I know I have an extra 5 times since I woke up this morning, after all.

You can also see the quick list of what’s new in that trailer on Serebii here, it’s mostly just some names and characters.

If you’ve got any opinions on anything and everything I’ve checked out here today, be sure to let me know in the comments below!  I’d especially love to know how people feel about the middle evolutions of the starters, whether or not they influenced your choice.

Cause I know they didn’t for me.  #Rowletforlife

2 thoughts on “New Sun and Moon Information: Starter Evolutions and an American trailer

Leave a Reply

