March 15, 2017 Article Published

You may be wondering to yourself, “Jason, how do you find the time to do all of your homework with all of the articles you’ve been involved with writing so far this month?”

If you are, I first of all just have to say thank you for being so concerned, I really appreciate it. However, secondly I also have to add that I’ll have to answer that question whenever I figure it out myself, since I still have a take-home quiz and about 100 pages in a book I have to read both due tomorrow.

So that’s going to be fun.

There’s also the matter of a few recent updates in Fire Emblem that I’ve been meaning to write up but.. That’s neither here nor there. The video game stuff is important to me intrinsically, but it’s probably not going to hurt anybody to have to wait an extra couple of days to hear what my thoughts are on an event that’s already a few days past its prime as is.

Anyway, that’s enough complaining about my personal life for one post that shouldn’t even be about that. Onto the news!

The story I published today is a pretty important one after all, all things considered. In our continual coverage of the suspended lecturer Eric Canin case, I’ve written an article regarding the resolution that the College Republicans club are currently trying to get in front of the student government on campus (ASI) calling for University Presidet Mildred Garcia to make a statement on the issue and ban Canin from campus for good.

Pretty serious stuff.

The President of the College Republicans club, Chris Boyle, has been in talks with the Chair of the ASI Board of Directors and estimates it’s going to be about 3 to 5 weeks before there’s a substantial amount of progress, but it’s still something we’re going to be following up on in the near future whenever the gears start to seriously turn.

This article was much more fun for me to write than the last one I did for a number of reasons. First and foremost… It was not in a language I didn’t understand.  Always kind of a negative point, even if the subject matter was interesting and even if I got good feedback on the final article. Second, I got to spend a fair amount of time with the College Republicans preparing the story, since I was able to get the full text of their resolution, which we printed in full. Third, this story really is like our baby at the News Desk this semester.  It’s something I personally have adored following so far, and I’m looking forward to doing more coming up.

There’s also a fairly interesting back-and-forth between the California Faculty Association and the College Republicans club that I included in this story that’s pretty worth looking at, I’d say.

If you want to check out the article in its entirety, you can see it here.  You can also find my whole archive of work for the Daily Titan over on the right!

P.S. – I also contributed to an article about the Affordable Learning Solutions Expo that was held on campus yesterday, since I did a couple of the interviews and some of the data gathering for one of our A&E assistants Sarah El-Mahmoud. So if you wanna check that story out too you can see it here.

Leave a Reply

