A promising amount of staying power

A promising amount of staying power

Just about two weeks after the game’s initial launch, Fire Emblem Heroes has received a new set of downloadable content that, despite being small, gives me some hope that this mobile game will keep itself in the hands of fans for some time to come;

img_4841

Yes that’s right, new heroes have arrived.  Two heroes from games that haven’t had characters in the mobile title yet, I might add.  Eirika and Ephraim have arrived from The Sacred Stones, meanwhile Seliph and Julia have arrived from Genealogy of the Holy War.

While no other characters from those two games have been added yet (unfortunately), the fact that new heroes are being added this soon after the game’s launch is a good sign compared to certain other titles I’ve seen handle this kind of system in less than impressive ways.  In fact, the model of launching just a few heroes at a time in this manner might be a little frustrating for players like me who want more of their favorites to arrive in droves, but it makes sense as a strategy to consistently space out content in a game where there’s plenty of potential content just waiting to be unleashed.

It isn’t just the four new characters to summon that give me hope for Fire Emblem Heroes, either.  There have also been new Paralogue story maps added to the game, much in the same fashion of extra missions appearing in main series Fire Emblem titles.

img_4843

The Paralogue boast its own bit of branching story from the main story mode with three maps that each award an orb for completion.  With three difficulty levels on each of these maps too, all together they give players nine more orbs for their collections.  With this, anyone can be at least a solid halfway to another full summoning session.

Nine orbs alone may not seem like a lot, but considering these extra orbs were added in just two weeks after launch, there’s plenty of promise that many Prologues will be added in the near future.  Between this, the two daily orbs and whatever extra orb rewards are given through quests, summoning heroes after burning through the 135 main story reward orbs should still be a rather attainable goal.

Speaking of quests, that’s another reason why this small update shows promise in extending the shelf life of Fire Emblem Heroes.

img_4845

New quests were added specifically pertaining to the Family Bonds Summoning Event, and though some of the goals are a long shot to complete (such as the ones that require the special focus heroes to be used), they are just another example of how goods will continue to be dispersed to players over time.

I’ve been enjoying Fire Emblem Heroes way more than I ever expected the past few weeks. Super Mario Run, while a really fun game (for reasons I’ve discussed previously that I still stand by), feels a little constrained by its smaller maps and limited main story content.  I still go back to it, but even when I first started playing I didn’t find myself returning as religiously throughout the day as I do now with Fire Emblem.

Of course, part of what makes the game so fun is having a few close friends just as invested as I am, giving us things to talk about throughout the day.  Whether it be about someone’s terrible summons or the daily event that just arrived, it’s interesting to see the different ways we’re all experiencing it.

To make a long story short, as I write this sentence I’m playing out a few maps to earn some new orbs so I can build up to summoning again.  The game is just that addictive and I look forward to every moment I’m playing it.

And I say that not only because Sacred Stones heroes have officially shown up.

img_4844

I’m still holding out for Neimi, game.

Leave a Reply

