February 13, 2017 Article Published

I frankly relish the opportunities I get to mix work with leisure once in a while.  Like when I had the chance to review Pokémon Sun and Moon for the Daily Titan, this week I published an article reviewing my latest mobile game obsession: Fire Emblem Heroes.

After the practice I had writing that Pokémon review last semester, this one felt much easier to craft overall.  The only really difficult thing about it came in the juxtaposition between how I tend to write and the publication’s necessities.  While I can easily write over 3,000 words dissecting the smallest things in a video game (as I’ve proven here time and time again), a general newspaper audience likely won’t care much for seeing me geek out for that long.

Thus, it was up to our A&E editor, Kaleb, to help reign me in and simmer down my work into something more succinct that hits right at the heart of the strengths and weaknesses of the game.  He’s an awesome editor and an even greater guy to spend time with, and without his help I’d still be stuck with an over-embellished description of the differences between hand-to-hand weapons, magic and colorless units in the game.

He also does some pretty stellar reviews for the paper.  I’d recommend his pretty recent Resident Evil 7 review, since I’m sure that’ll appeal to the kind of audience I tend to draw.  He even did a multimedia live talking review about the game to go along with it, which is pretty sweet!

Even with Kaleb’s help, my article still wound up being the longest thing he published at about 800-900 words or so… But to be completely fair, this article might not technically be published in the same sense as the rest of my work for the DT.  Because of some spacing concerns in our special weeklong sex-themed issue, A&E had to cut their page and run all their stories online.  So this review wasn’t put out in print, but it was published online.

Luckily, for my purposes here, that’s more than good enough.

While there are plenty of things I feel have been left out of the review from the perspective of someone who obsesses too much over a game when he enjoys it, I still really like how this piece turned out.  I’m sure if I ever want to dig deeper into the gameplay strategies and mechanics, or if I want to talk about my five star monsters Tiki and Minerva, I’ll write up a separate post some time in the near future.

If you want to see the review in its entirety, you can see it here.  You can also check out my whole archive of work for the Daily Titan through the link over on the right!

Leave a Reply

