New Sun and Moon information: Last minute CoroCoro leaks

Alright, I’m assuming that none of this stuff is necessarily new if you happen to be following the data-mined information leaks.  Some people can’t seem to leave things alone so they can be a surprise, so I’m pretty sure just about everything about Sun and Moon is out in the wild, wild West of the internet right now.

I personally want to keep everything not officially released by Nintendo/Game Freak/The Pokémon Company/whoever releases this stuff a secret.  I love having the surprise reveals naturally appear during gameplay, particularly with Pokémon and mechanics we haven’t been told about yet.  Though it certainly seems like there is not much left to reveal after the last few months of videos, leaks like this one we got today out of CoroCoro suggest otherwise.


corocoro12161
Image courtesy of Serebii.net

So, just to preface, we don’t seem to know a lot about any of these new images that were leaked.  At this point, it’s a lot more speculative and based on observing appearances for me.

Speculating based on my observations, I can tell that this Pokémon is going to be something totally wild.  If I had to guess, the rad looking and sentient crystalline prism above looks like our third legend in the primary trio for this generation.  The Rayquaza to our Kyogre and Groudon.  The Giratina to our Palkia and Dialga.  The Kyurem to our Reshiram and Zekrom.  The Zygarde to our Xerneas and Yveltal.

Even though that last one is a little strange simply because most of it’s full power is coming out in Sun and Moon, rather than appearing in X and Y?  But that’s a whole other story.

Though we may not know a lot, I do know that seeing the silhouette makes me pretty excited.  Any Pokémon with a cool design like this that seems to be coming from deep space just has to be good, right?  Deoxys would certainly say so.

corocoro12162
Image courtesy of Serebii.net

Next up on the block we have a few new Ultra Beasts, which again just seem to get weirder and weirder as time goes on.  These two, who I assume are UB-03 judging by the large “3” among all the Japanese I can’t read, once again appear to be split by version.  The cool-looking paper origami samurai guy on the left looks like it will be appearing in Pokémon Sun, while the bamboo-armed science experiment on the right will be appearing in Pokémon Moon.  As someone playing Moon version, I’m admittedly disappointed that I won’t get the cool samurai, but at the same time I am genuinely curious to see bamboo guy moving around doing things.

Again, we don’t know much, but I’m sure they’ll have a pretty in-depth purpose for the story of the games.  Perhaps they’ll be after one of the three other island deities, since we know UB-02 is going to go after Tapu Koko.

Oh, and might I add, while I noted that the other Ultra Beasts seemed to have some sort of connection with important characters (UB-01 with Lillie and UB-02 Beauty with Lusamine), there don’t seem to be the same obvious connections here.  However, seeing the Aether Foundation admins in the lower right corner of the left page, I can’t help but note the science-y guy with the green glasses reminding me of the bamboo guy, just a little bit.

corocoro12163
Image courtesy of Serebii.net

Finally, the third image that was leaked doesn’t depict that much new information, but it does reveal something interesting at least.  On the right page, you can see the starter Pokémon’s final evolutions using unique Z-Moves.  According to Serebii, Decidueye’s move translates to “Shadow Armor Strike,” while Incineroar’s move translates to “Hyper Dark Crusher.”

Primarina’s move is unfortunately cut off in the picture that was leaked, but I’m going to assume it has something to do with blasting bubbles.  Because what else would it be, honestly?


That’s all we got to look at today.  While there wasn’t a whole lot, I can’t really complain about that.  It gets a little overwhelming when a huge information dump arrives thanks to all my homework and time I spend working on the Daily Titan.  So a simple and quick little update is a nice change of pace, even if it is a little surprising that we’re still getting information leaked this close to release.

What do you think of the mysterious crystalline prism Pokémon from deep space?  Or the new Ultra Beasts, fresh off the presses doing… Whatever it is they’ll be doing.  Will you be using the Z-Moves of the starter evolutions?  Or do you think they’ll benefit more from other items enough to not make them necessary?  Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Oh, and might I add, we’re officially seven days away from Sun and Moon dropping.  If I wind up finding the extra time, expect some more reflective posts about the games in the near future.

2 thoughts on “New Sun and Moon information: Last minute CoroCoro leaks

Leave a Reply

