New Sun and Moon Information + More GO Ramblings

As of today, I officially started my second Summer college course.  Between the workload that’s going to come with it and the workload I already have for my first course, I’ll probably be nice and busy through mid-August.

But not as busy as the Pokémon Company is with showing off more new Pokémon, am I right?

Well lousy transition aside, there were in fact two new Pokémon leaked from CoroCoro magazine today, so it’s about time to talk about them, wouldn’t you say?

Images Courtesy of Serebii.net

Here we have Mimikkyu and Kiteruguma, both seeming to be only the Japanese names but considering Togedemaru didn’t change from the Japanese to the English translations, who knows.

Mimikkyu is a Ghost/Fairy-type, and according to the description that came along with their reveals: “Mimikkyu hates sunlight, preferring dark places. It is rumoured that the cloth covering its body is a strategy to avoid the sun. Don’t try to remove the cloth it is said that those that do become afflicted with an illness. Mimikkyu’s costume is based on Pikachu merch that was popular 20 years ago. It wants to be loved by people like Pikachu is.”  It will have a new ability called Disguise with a currently unknown effect.

I’m not going to bury the lead or anything here, Mimikkyu is easily my favorite of the two released here, and perhaps one of my favorite Pokémon unveiled for Sun and Moon thus far.  Not only is it super adorable just from it’s description/lore/backstory/whatever alone, it’s got an interesting typing to play around with and overall it’s just… I love it, okay?  It kind of reminds me of Woodstock from the Peanuts comic strip with a sheet over its head if the sheet just so happened to be decorated in the style of a witch-varient of Pikachu from Puella Magi Madoka Magica.  The whole children’s drawing style to the face really screams that to me.

Meanwhile, Kiteruguma is a Normal/Fighting-type, and according to the description that came along with their reveals: “People in Alola are scared of Kiteruguma to the point of having warning signs about it. It is really strong and can break anything in two. It likes to hug its trainers but is strong. Raising one puts your life in danger.”  It will have the abilities Klutz and a new addition called Fluffy with a currently unknown effect.

While I don’t like this big bear quite as much as it’s revealed counterpart, it does have a certain charm to it.  I suppose.  Sure raising it is a danger because it nonchalantly snaps entire trees in half and that sort of thing, but it’s got a cute pink and black color scheme right?  So it’s gotta be something.  To be fair, one of my favorite Megas, Mega Lopunny, does have a Normal/Fighting-typing, and it’s pretty amazing in my opinion.  Whether the typing will work quite as well with a new Pokémon that doesn’t have scrappy is still in question, however.

That’s about that, not too much was talked about for these guys considering it was only a fresh leak from the August issue that let us know what we currently know.  I’m assuming we’ll hear more about them as time goes on.  I do have some more to talk about regarding my continued experience with Pokémon GO, but I’ll leave that under the read more for anyone that’s curious about it.  Otherwise, let me know what you think about these new Pokémon below!

Alright so, Pokémon GO.  After about a week of playing, it’s certainly got its fair share of problems.  The server connection issues range from manageable to absolutely god-awful, to the point that Niantic restricted the game’s total release across the globe while they figure out how to fix the problem.

There was also a pretty huge controversy over the access Pokémon GO currently allows to user’s gmail accounts in it’s current state.  However, Niantic quickly responded to the issue and are working on correcting the mistake, as the article I linked to corroborates as well.

I’ve had to figure out quite a few things both on my own and with the help of friends, as admittedly not a lot of things involved in GO seem to be explained to new players.  This could potentially be a detrimental note or an honestly beneficial one, whether you believe it’s wrong to throw someone into something without explanation or whether you feel the air of exploration is only increased by forcing players to discover how to play.

For example, the paw print system is kind of a lousy indicator of where Pokémon are, as Pokémon get closer the fewer paw prints are over their icon on the nearby list but there’s no way of telling which direction you need to go in to get closer to them, so it really is a bit frustrating to find Pokémon you really want.

Some things, like the way you can only get coins every 20 hours or so in intervals of 10 based on how many Pokémon you have set in gyms, also seem to be rather blatant micro-transaction bait.  Sure I haven’t needed to buy anything with real cash since the Pokéstops do a good job of keeping items flowing, but with the high cost of items such as Pokémon  storage and Bag expansions in conjunction with the unlikely nature of holding a gym for a huge amount of time, it does seem like the system is a bit pushy in some ways.

Granted, the game is totally free, so any micro-transactions could arguably just be supporting the developers (something I personally feel is worth it), but still.

Also, a lot of the server issues and stuff have led to me missing out on rare Pokémon like Dratini.  So that sucks.  I really, /really/ like the Dratini line.  They also affect gyms, which aren’t all that fun to play out whenever server problems are abound.

Despite all that generally lousy stuff, however, Pokémon GO is still an extremely fun experience, and I’ve probably gotten more exercise in the past week than I have in quite a while.  Catching and evolving Pokémon is rewarding and fun, seeing them in real locations is still a very silly and generally exciting novelty, and considering there’s still 6 more generations that can and presumably will be implemented, I can totally see the staying power of the game as a whole.

Probably my absolute favorite part of Pokémon GO as a whole is the sense of community it exudes almost without trying.  My neighborhood has never had as many people wandering around as it has in the past week, and that pattern is consistent no matter where I’ve gone.  People I’ve met are incredibly open about just chatting while standing around at Pokéstops, comparing Pokémon and dexes, and just generally having fun with the game that seems to be bringing a ton of people together.

Easily the greatest example of this communal phenomenon is lures, particularly Pokéstops with overlapping regions.  See, while Pokéstops are used to collect items, a player can place a lure module inside of one that will attract Pokémon to that location more frequently for a 30 minute period.  I’d argue that lure modules are much better at attracting humans, however.

IMG_3779

When you have two Pokéstops with overlapping areas, like this place at El Camino College that I visited today after my class, the Pokémon that arrive are pretty insane.  But more insane is the amount of people that show up to places like this, proving just how wide-spread a virus Pokémon GO has become.

IMG_3781

Excuse the sideways image (Which is kind of fantastic in it’s own right, I mean look at that fish just swimming around like the floor is a wall, it’s awesome!), but this is the location I was in for the overlap above.  Just about everyone in the picture was trying to catch the same Magikarp, and there were many more than that surrounding me on all sides as well.  Just the fact that so many people can come to the same place with the same game and all chat about the rare monsters that are arriving thanks to one person’s generosity in placing a lure… It’s a really nice experience to reflect upon in a time when many things around the US are rather… Chaotic, to say the least.

But I think I’ve done enough rambling on for one day, so I’m going to leave you all with a few of my very overpowered Pokémon in GO so far that I love to death.  Hope you guys enjoy my little #humblebrag moment, and I hope you just have a nice, enjoyable day in general!  Until next time.

 

2 thoughts on “New Sun and Moon Information + More GO Ramblings

Leave a Reply

