Eric Medalle – Rest in Peace

While I was in New York for a week, wandering the landmarks and participating in sessions for the College Media Association conference, there were quite a few things I missed in the news that I had to catch up on when I got home.  One of those things, was the death of Eric Medalle.

There were many reasons I felt like I should talk about this particularly sad passing.  For one, I am a college journalist – reporting the news is one of my drives in life.  However, more importantly than that, Medalle’s loss is a tragic one both for the circumstances of his passing and for the inspirational work he’s left behind, as well as it’s meaning for myself and undoubtedly many other people.

While driving through Seattle, Washington on Sunday, March 13, 2016 with his two-year-old daughter Nico, Medalle’s car was struck by a tree which fell during an intense windstorm.  His daughter was pulled from the wreckage by a passerby and brought to a nearby hospital, but Medalle, 42, was killed in the incident.

I’m not the first person to report on this news, obviously enough, so instead of making this post like a news article, I figured I would talk a little about the wider impact.  Pokémon is easily my favorite game series, and Medalle was pretty heavily with The Pokémon Company as an artist and graphic designer since 2003.  He designed artwork for the Trading Figurine Game, logos and cards for the Trading Card Game, and various pieces of artwork for games from the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth generations: Both main series titles and spin-off games like Pokémon Conquest and the Ranger series. I personally have played nearly every game he’s credited in helping create, which makes him a sizable part of my gaming history.

Whether Medalle had any part in working on the upcoming titles Sun and Moon before his passing is currently unknown, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he did.  There is a YouCaring fundraiser running to raise money for his children to attend college, organized by friends of the family.

553e4b9c6d6d46a489329c8204722ce0-546a4af9398f5
Eric Medalle: 1974 – 2016

Thank you for all that you’ve done to help create the experiences that have shaped my life as well as the lives of many, many others around the world.


Sources

 

 

Leave a Reply

